May 9, 2012

Mom,
I got the package yesterday, so thanks for sending it! I´m in one of the computer labs now, so the keyboards are much much better. I just tried to plug my camera into the computer so I could send some pictures to you in this email, but these computers are super secured, and so the camera isn´t even recognized. I’m pretty sure that the memory card you sent me is the right kind, but I didn’t actually check to make sure it fit, but it looks the same. I haven´t tried the bacon sunflower seeds, because honestly, that seems kind of gross haha, but my teacher, hno. Gillon, LOVES bacon. He has this crazy lifestyle where red meat is the only thing suited for eating, so I´m going to ask him to try them first, then I’ll try them. The two elders that are going to Guatemala from our district left yesterday. They’re spending their remaining six weeks in the Guatemala MTC. I grew a bond with them more than anyone else here at the MTC, so I’m really going to miss them. Did I get a letter from Stuart sent to the house? Because I remember I sent him a letter, and Brittany put hers in with mine, and she received a letter back, but I didn’t, so I was just wondering if he sent one. When we get the tie, I’ll be sure to sign it. Which one did you send me? hopefully Brittany told you one that’s not too dark.

I love getting letters so much! it’s like the highlight of every meal. Misty sends me letters and Dear Elders like nobodies business, which is awesome. She sent me pictures, and cards that they all signed, it’s been great. There’s an elder I met here who’s from Mongolia, and he looks a lot like Jackie Chan when he smiles and laughs, which is pretty funny. He’s been speaking English for only 8 months, and he has an incredible vocabulary and ability to speak it. His accent is thick, but it’s just incredible how well he can speak such a difficult language in a short amount of time.

It’s pretty weird not having a phone. Sometimes I’ll freak out and I’ll check my pocket to make sure I didn’t lose my phone, and forget that I don’t have one anymore. Sometimes I’ll swear that I feel my pocket vibrate which sucks. It’s not like I’m going through withdrawals, it’s just that I’m not used to not having one. Sundays here are pretty long, there are a lot of meetings, but there’s actually quite a bit of down time. Not really down time, but time that we should be doing our computer study stuff, and we choose to sit around and talk haha. Sacrament meeting is mostly in Spanish, with the exception of the talks by the Branch Presidency. All the songs are in spanish, testimonies are in spanish, sacrament is in spanish, but it’s not too bad. Because everyone here speaks broken spanish, I can understand what they’re saying pretty well.

It’s been really great being able to speak the language well, I’m helping out my district a lot. My companion sometimes takes things personally when I try to help him speak better spanish, and we have been having more problems, but we’re starting to work things out. I really hope we can, because I’m stuck with him for the next six weeks regardless of whether or not we get along.

Before I leave here, you should send me a package with all the stuff I’ll need for Costa Rica, like my iPod and iHome, and uke and kazoo. It’ll be much cheaper to sent it here and have me fly it down there, is what I’ve heard, and I’m sure that’s the truth. I can’t begin to describe how much I miss music. It’s sooo terrible not being able to have the stress reliever of good music. We can’t even listen to MoTab on lds.org! It’s ridiculous.

I don’t think I’ll need the jacket that we gave to Joe when you dropped me off, it’s been really nice here. every day for lunch and dinner I eat a wrap, which is much better and healthier than the other bad food they have, and for breakfast I have either a bagel or Cheerios with a banana cut up in it, except today they didn’t have bowls or bagels, so I had to have crappy french toast, but whatever. I havent had the chance to have any shakes at all, because the meals are like super regimented, and so there’s not really a chance for me to go back to the room, and get shake stuff. The only scale I know of is in the big gym, and I haven’t been there in a few days. But the last time I weighed myself, which was maybe a week ago, I had gained 4 pounds since before I went to Washington to visit Tommy. I think I’ve ben doing really well healthwise. I don’t eat a lot of food, and I get full pretty quickly. Since it’s been a while, I’m a little eager to weigh myself again to see if I’ve gon up or down since then. Our district leader has gained like 18 pounds since he got here. Since I had two weeks off of boxing between the last time and since I got here, I don’t know how accurate my estimate of a weight gain while I’ve been here can be. Hopefully not too much. We live on the third floor of our residence, and our class is on the fifth floor of our class building, which is on the opposite side of the campus from where we live, so there’s a lot of stair-climbing going on, which is probably what’s keeping me from gaining too much weight. My comp gained 11 pounds since he got here, so he decided to go on a “cereal diet,” on which he eats a normal plate of terrible food, then adds a bowl of lucky charms. Apparently he doesn’t know the whole point of a diet, or maybe he doesn’t understand that Lucky Charms is probably the worst cereal for you. Anyways, he’s only 125, so he can’t complain too bad.

I can’t check out my blog either, because the computers block popups, but I’d love to check it out.

I’m really glad I’ve been able to be here with such great experiences. I can’t wait to get out to Costa Rica though.

I’ll talk to you next week!

Elder Kuoha
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

