March 11, 2013

Hey Mom!

The Kalua pig
Was so very delicious,
We all enjoyed it.

The members we ate with keep asking me when we’re going to make it again haha. The only problem was buying the pig. I had to buy it because the members lent us their oven, and it was in there for like 4 or 5 hours, so it was a lot of electricity. Anyways, we had a good time, and we’ll probably do it again sometime soon.

I haven’t gotten your boxes yet, but I think I’ll probably get two of them this week, because we have a multizone meeting this thursday. This sunday, if they come to church, we’ll be having three baptisms. I’m pretty excited, they’ve been progressing slowly for the past 3 months, but they’ve finally starting to pick up the pace and do the things that are necessary to prepare themselves for baptism. We’ve got a few other people with the goal to be baptized, but they haven’t come to church yet, so we’ll see when it’ll be.

I miss the lemon tree in the backyard, and the fact that I used to be able to make strawberry lemonade whenever I wanted to. Here, lemons don’t exist. It’s just lime, but they call them lemons. Well, it’s more like a fruit in between lemon and lime. But it’s not yellow like the lemons we know in the states. They taste good, but it’s just not the same. However, making my own papaya banana smoothies is nice.

I feel like we’ve done all the cool stuff there is to do here in this area for Pday, next week, if it’s sunny, we’ll go up to the small waterfalls again, but recently it had been raining nonstop for over a week. Today was the first day it has cleared up. It really sucked. I hadn’t had to buy newspaper in months, but I had to the other day to dry out my shoes, and they were still wet even after I changed the newspaper too. Today we went to a gym and played soccer between the two of us, for like three hours, then we ate lunch and came to the chapel and set up the volleyball net the have out on the soccer/basketball court in the church parking lot, so we could play volleyball with the sister missionaries. Volleyball is kind of boring with 4 people when it’s super windy, and the one on my team is like 5 ft tall, but we had a good time. Fui and I were laughing the entire time because we were so exhausted from running at the gym for the entire time we were there, everything seemed hilarious.

I think I’m getting changed at the next changes; this is my 4th change here, which is a lot. People aren’t usually in an area more than 4 changes, and nobody more than 5 changes, except Goff, who was in our ward for 6. But that was just ridiculous. I think they forgot about him, lol. But I don’t really want to leave because I’ve grown to love all these people. It’s pretty easy to get to know mostly everyone from an area, but I already miss everyone from my first area. Now i’m going to have 2 areas from which I miss a whole bunch of people. It’s weird, because at this rate, by the end of my mission I’ll only have 4 or 5 areas. Crazy stuff.

Anyways, we’re having a good time and stuff. I hope everything is going well for everyone back home, because it’s all good here.

When we come back and visit, we’ll go zip lining.

Love
Elder Kuoha

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

